C Coming Home to Us…

K (from henceforth, Mr. Coffee) leaves for Seoul on Wednesday morning. It is about 15 hours later there, so he arrives on Thursday.

He’ll meet C and foster Mom and get a brief visit. The rules are such that C does not go to Mr. Coffee until it is time to leave (they can spend a night together, but it’s recommended against as the baby will be grieving for Foster Mom and it’s best that the adoptive parents don’t start that process grouchy and sleepy).

Mr. Coffee is hoping for a few more visits (since Foster Mom only lives a few blocks from Eastern), so he is not a complete stranger to C when they leave. I hope that works out.

In any event, Mr. Coffee will be in Seoul for 5 days. He’ll stay in a guest room at Eastern (the orphanage/adoption agency). He gets back the evening of May 12, and we’ll probably family cocoon for a few days.

That cocooning will be broken a bit by new big brother M’s need to be around people as much as possible.

I start my leave this Tuesday and I couldn’t be more excited about THAT! While it was a shame the arrangements to send us all didn’t work out and that the whole frequent flyer thing led to too much delay, M and I have no issues with going with the original plan either.

M and I will be spending lots of time together and I hope to be able to arrange visits with LOTS of his friends as I ramp him up to welcome his brother home.

M and I have been practicing “Hello, I love you” in Korean.

7 thoughts on “C Coming Home to Us…

  1. rjjs8878

    I’m so happy for Mr. Coffee and you. I was sorry to hear the frequent flyer plan didn’t work out. Is anyone giving you a shower?

    1. Thank you. I think a couple of the older women at church are going to plan something. I asked them to wait until we got him home, as we wouldn’t really know how big he was until then. Right now, according to the medical records, he’s pretty little for his age. Okay by me – I can handle two little big guys.

      I will try to send you a private email later today or tomorrow – I’d like to bring you some (home-made) food during my short stint of domestic bliss. Even though the food from the gas station is good too! ; )

      1. Charlie

        I am amazingly happy for you guys! Prayers and general Good Thoughts™ are wending their way to you for a safe return home for everyone and a and quick/smooth transition to expanded family life! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Denise

    I want to send baby stuff for my new nephew. Can I do that? Do you guys need stuff for C? I think a nickname to consider for M is “DinoMan”.

  3. Tracy

    I’m so excited for you with this! So, Mr. Coffee stays for 5 days – that is a long time. I hope it does work out for him to get to see C a few times. It is nice that you and M will have that time together before C comes home. I love that you’ve been practicing “Hello, I love you” in Korean. 🙂 I’m really happy for you all. 🙂

  4. “Someday, after mastering the winds, the waves, the tides and gravity, we shall harness for God the energies of love, and then, for a second time in the history of the world, man will have discovered fire.” ~ Pierre Teilhard de Chardin

Leave a Reply

