Laundry Mountain!

I have conquered laundry mountain! Well, okay the sheets on the bed still need to be done and I have 2 loads of stuff I found around the house when I was cleaning up. But still…

A friend recently emailed that her own laundry mountain continues because of a hidden crayon. Good to know what I should attempt to remember in years ahead!

I am not playing with M right now, mostly because I am pooped from dragging the used Ikea couch I had in my “library” out to the garage. M wanted it in the play-room. Mr. Coffee wanted it in his office. But it is too big and too heavy, so I will just resell it. Of course, I can’t get what I paid for it, because the cats have puked and shed and scratched on it. All of this, except the scratching, will be better with my “new” used couch – because it’s leather. I never would have thought of myself as a leather furniture person, but 2 cats, 1 dog, 2 boys later, and I have found that leather wipes off and holds up. Besides, I am buying it used, so I don’t feel personally responsible for the death of all of those rare blue cows.

The first used couch was a bust – I shouldn’t have bought it. But I am a thrift store pro, and I can learn to use the same approach with furniture (if you don’t LOVE it, you aren’t saving $ buying it).

I made the mistake of thinking I could make do for awhile…that’s never the right approach to buying used stuff (a good approach to making use of what you all ready have, sure, but definitely only go with LOVE if buying used).

I made arrangements for the guy selling the couch to bring it over on Sunday. I am going to be devastated if he doesn’t show! I really want this couch!

Mr. Coffee is a stay-at-home Dad but his focus has been elsewhere for the past few weeks, so I am working my way through a very dirty house so we can relax (I hope) and enjoy the baby, M, and each other when he comes home.

I cleaned the kitchen, including scrubbing the food encrusted floor, and made it through a mountain of dirty dishes. I vacuumed our main level. I just about got my library set up with books.

I still have some things to organize and put away and some things are ending up in my basement “studio.” The studio is really just a pile of my crap right now, so that’s only slightly better than shoving it in a closet. But –

The studio is currently low on my to do list. I am hopeful that I can get it organized in my time off. But we’ll see. With the baby coming home, that may fall onto the fantasy list too.

Anyway, I am feeling pretty good about all of this because I have also been getting M some extra fun. Wednesday was our first day with Daddy (Mr. Coffee) gone – on his way to Seoul – and on that day, M went to school (where he saw a play), came home, and I invited his buddy from up the street over and they played for 2 hours. Later I went to see the aforementioned blue couch and a friend and her child – M’s best buddy from pre-school – came with us and we had a fabulous dinner out at McDonald’s play-land (I need to buy stock in that place).

Tangent: Funny how having little kids changes things. I would not have set foot in McDonalds before M was old enough to ask for it. It’s the playland, not the food, that’s the draw, but goodness knows, we have spent some $ there.

End Tanget. : )

M crashed that night after his shot (more on that in another post), and was up strangely early the next day.

Thursday (yesterday) we played in the yard, and we went on an adventure walk in a big park nearby, where M played on the pile of rocks/old concrete pipe playground (scary for Mom, but M loves it). We also fed the ducks. Yes, I know we aren’t supposed to do that, but kids should get to feed ducks. You won’t convince me otherwise. My love of nature started with duck feeding and in the long run, led me to do more GOOD things for nature than bad..so I firmly believe this balances out.

M fell asleep soon after we got home from our walk, which is unusual – he doesn’t usually nap anymore. Then we went over to his buddy O’s house and they rode “motorcycles” (tricycles) in the park near O’s house and wrestled. They play rough, M often starts it, and O is a big line-backer built kid. It’s hard for me to watch but they seem to enjoy it immensely. Sometimes M ends up in tears, but since he starts it at least as often as O, I just have to make sure there is no real harm, and let M know, hey – he’s bigger than you; this is going to happen.

And that’s my last 2 days.

So I think I am doing OK getting ready for the new arrival while giving M attention. Thing is, there is not quite enough attention in the WHOLE world for my little M, and so, I better go….

9 thoughts on “Laundry Mountain!

  1. rjjs8878

    I need to clean house too but I’m not in the mood. If it is cool and rainy tomorrow I will be motivated to start cleaning. Thereโ€™s always the chance that I will get sucked in by the Food Channel and end up wasting away the morning. I canโ€™t imagine how difficult it must be to keep a house clean with children.

    1. It’s pretty challenging, I’ll admit. I have “saved” the play-room until last because it is a WRECK. M can’t find anything in there though, and he gets pretty upset about that, so I have had at least 20 opportunities today to talk to him about WHY it’s good to put toys away.

      I can’t believe you made it through that long post!

  2. Tracy

    This is great. I am so glad you’re getting so much done AND having so much fun with M! You know they’re feeling fulfilled when they fall asleep like that at the drop of a hat. ๐Ÿ™‚

    “… the death of all those rare blue cows.” ๐Ÿ™‚ I am also a firm believer in if you don’t LOVE it, don’t buy it, used or otherwise! Oh yeah, and I like the two extra loads of laundry you found while cleaning up. Evidently I am not the only one who has family members in the “it stays where it falls” club. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And hey, no one ever said there was anything wrong with being to eat a meal out in peace(?)… I mean without having to worry about your kid(s) making too much noise!

    1. Okay, my blog is going crazy. You know, other than chocolate chip pancakes for breakfast and an hour of “beach day” (bathing suits and hose in the back-yard), I have pretty much ignored M today. But he just fell asleep at the table eating crackers. It’s too late in the day for a nap but what can you do!?

      I wish I felt fulfilled! I am STRESSED! That’s what I was trying to work out with that crazy long post!

      1. Tracy

        I’m sorry you are so STRESSED! ๐Ÿ™‚ I could feel the adrenaline tearing through that post… wasn’t sure if it was coffee-induced or other! But you are obviously getting TONS done — AND getting that much done while also giving M what HE needs — well, that’s is no easy thing. And there’s something about chocolate chip pancakes that seems to count extra. It’s almost like the memory of their chocolate-y sweet goodness, laced with love and care from mommy, seems to stay with them all through the day… maybe even longer than that… Okay, they are now on the menu over here this weekend!

        Still in cleaning mode over here, too… solidarity, sister! ๐Ÿ˜‰

          1. Tracy

            Okay that’s truly rare! One of mine did that two or three times. And that’s it. Out of four kids, in 13 years. It was good timing for you, though, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

