Still On My Break…

…from thinking and in general, just trying to hold myself together as my family navigates the next few weeks.

And I am reading a lot of “brain-candy” or as I like to call these kinds of books, “literary pixie sticks.” I was recently reminded of the real reason I shy from romance novels (even if they are wrapped in horror or crime drama) and instead lean towards science-fiction (which often manages to taste like candy but nourish thought anyway).

It’s not that “tastes like candy but sometimes isn’t” thing, much as I’d like to say it is (I DO enjoy thinking, but no…). I can’t even say that it’s the aggravating stereotypes that permeate the pixie stick books. No, as much as the street-wise *funky* black side-kick or feisty grannies may irk me at times, it’s not that either.

No, it’s that I really don’t much like reading the word “nipple.” Especially if it’s used more than 17 times in one narrative sequence….

11 thoughts on “Still On My Break…

  1. I love the term “literary pixie sticks!” I talk about reading junky novels, although I sort of resist the term as well. Even in these fluffy books, there is still good dialogue and solid character development — that is, there is enough good writing to hook me and get me engaged in the book. But there aren’t any deep ideas and the books don’t require me to think carefully or work to get the story. And they don’t usually involve difficult, complex issues — there are happy endings in store. But what is “literature” and why should good books necessarily be difficult or unpleasant to read? So the line seems fuzzy to me. There are some good fantasy novels that still have strong romance novel (or even erotica) components — maybe not high literature, but not entirely lacking in content. My partner and I argue about Stephen King — he thinks King’s horror books are junky, while I think there is some very good character development and storytelling in his books, albeit under a genre label that admits some pretty trashy works. Or maybe I’m just kidding myself because I don’t want to admit that I read trashy books. 🙂

    On the other hand, I like the word “nipple”, which has a wonderful sound to it. Any word used too many times denotes a lack of imagination, however . . .

    So what literary pixie sticks have you been reading, or won’t you admit it?

    1. Well, I just finished a romance/ghost story. It was written well enough that I finished it, but the “love scenes” read like they were written by a 15-year old boy. It was very…nipply. I began to skip those passages after a bit.

      I agree with you on Stephen King – I think both “Running Man” and “The Long Walk” uphold that King can write well. I also think that the book with the killer clown in it (what WAS that book?) shows that he often choses to write crap for money. “Running Man” seems almost prophetic to me, with all the cruel reality shows we have now. I keep waiting to hear that participants are dying. Seriously…

      I have read a good bit of Janet Evonovich lately, but after a few books back to back, the AWFUL reliance of stereotypes began to wear me down.

      Mostly, I have been reading old “Fantasy and Science Fiction” magazines from the 70s. The racism and sexism that is evident in the ones from ’72 were tough to wade through, but by ’75, they seems to have evolved. No great names stand out from this though (though some of the names are now very well known), so I can’t recommend anything.

      What candy is in your brain?

  2. Charlie

    Heheheh…

    @Momsomniac (ye GODS! I think I’ve been infected by Twitterspeak!), I feel the same way about the word, “productize.” Alas, it is difficult to avoid the word in a corporate environment… especially where the company doesn’t actually produce anything with… y’know… actual physical dimensions.

      1. Charlie

        Alas, no… In our new, “anything for anyone” office climate, I’ve gone from having 1 or 2 supervisors (depending on the fluidity of the org chart) to having about 38. Of course, at the rate people are “exiting the company” that number should be pared back down to 1 or 2 in no time. 🙂

  3. Tracy

    LOL I really have to laugh because I also hate coming across that word! In fact, I seem to have a ridiculous shyness regarding the word and can barely bring myself to say it!

    I find that the most important factor in whether I enjoy a book isn’ t so much the genre (although… obviously that IS a factor), but really is more the character development. I find it very hard to get into a book where I feel like I don’t get to know the characters well enough!

  4. Denise

    heheheheheheheheh……you wrote the word ‘nipple’. heheheheheheheheh, next you’ll write the word butt or something. I agree with Deborah’s comment about the term “literary pixie sticks”, I really really like it!!!!! I always just said junk food books, but that one is WAY better!!!!

Leave a Reply

