Chocolat by Joanne Harris

My friend Tracy recommended the book Chocolat by Jeanne Harris, and Mr. Coffee kindly went out and bought it for me while I was in the hospital. I raced through it, because it is just that good. I loved that it was a joyous book and full of surprises. I kept thinking that I knew what was going to happen, fearing what was to come, and then – something else happened. I loved that the romance in it isn’t a romance, because frankly, I find that can be a bit cheap and easy in otherwise complex books. And the “magic” in it is the magic of kindness…and good food.

The sequel, The Girl with no Shadow, was a good book but I didn’t enjoy it half as much as Chocolat nor did I find it as surprising. It’s probably the first sequel I have read that was influenced by the movie ~ making the romance much as it was in the movie and noting the cayenne pepper in the chocolate (which is discussed in the movie but not the novel Chocolat, though to be fair, it may have been in one of Harris’s two cookbooks). It is much darker, the witchcraft in it is indeed witchcraft, and though it’s still quite a good book, it was the boundless joy of Chocolat that was so refreshing. All that said, there was one loose end in the sequel that, as a parent, I was extremely pleased to see tied (I won’t say what, in case you want to read this book ~ I’ll preserve the surprises for you).

I recently finished a third Joanne Harris novel – a dark murderous one called Gentlemen and Players. It too surprised me. Enough, in fact, that I may reread it to see just where I was misled!

If you enjoy a good mystery, I recommend Joanne Harris. And if you’ve read these books, what did you think?

(I could only get the first link to work today; the baby ate my brain and it’s slow in growing back)
Ahhhh, links fixed! Annnnd “good boy” changed to what is should be “good BOOK.” Thank you, Brain!

4 thoughts on “Chocolat by Joanne Harris

  1. Anonymous

    I read the book years ago and LOVED it. I even own the movie because I was so excited when I found out that the book had been made into one. It’s very pretty. The book is better of course. Didn’t even know there was a sequel.

Leave a Reply

