Pictures of Jake

a beloved friend

 

My cousin Elizabeth asked me to paint a picture of her boyfriend’s beloved companion, Jake.  Jake died unexpectedly this past year, so this is a pretty important request.

I finally found the time to begin.  I have started with a loose line drawing, and I think I have captured his boxy nose and his doggy smile.  But I can’t decide if I want to go with a detailed colored pencil approach or my usual loose marker/acrylic paint style.  I am leaning towards the latter. 

I took a picture with my phone this morning, and here it is.  What do you think?

7 thoughts on “Pictures of Jake

  1. cantueso

    Nice! But I think the eye on the right is a little too empty. I don’t know how to draw, but I realize that the eyes must be the hardest about a face, since just the slightest change in a line would give a completely different expression.

  2. Elizabeth McClendon

    I think it is wonderful. I don’t know much about drawing so I can’t give any advice but you have captured him well. We are so glad to see the work in progress. We miss him very much and we will enjoy the memory of him in your picture. Love you!

    1. Love you too.

      Other than paintings of R2D2 and Chewbacca that I did for our big Star Wars 6th birthday blow-out this summer, I haven’t painted anything in a long time (and I only did that because posters were awfully expensive and I all ready had the art supplies! : ) ).

      I’ll be posting my progress on this to keep me going. I want to paint, it’s just tough to find time and energy these days. I’ll let you know when I update so you can see how this is going.

  3. Pingback: Pictures of Jake « Momsomniac

Leave a Reply

