What Was Your Wedding Song?

I came across this question elsewhere, and I think it’s simply a lovely subject.  I am so tired today; this is the sort of uplifting thing that keeps me going. 

So….

We got some giggles, but the first dance for me and Mr. Coffee was “Is This Love?” by Bob Marley.  Mr. Coffee is not a romantic but he still asks me to dance when it comes on.  It’s wonderful because you do hear it from time to time on the radio.  I know Mr. Coffee wanted Bob Marley, but I can’t recall if he picked this song, if I picked it, or if we chose together.

The song for my father-daughter dance was “San Diego Serenade” by Tom Waits.  I selected this one – because I love it, it was slow enough for my Dad to dance  to, and it’s about life experience changing how we see things.

What did you dance to?  If you aren’t married, what would you want for a wedding song?

6 thoughts on “What Was Your Wedding Song?

  1. “Can’t Fight This Feeling” by REO Speedwagon. It’s really cheesy, but it’s the song that convinced my husband to finally give in to his feelings for me. So it had to be our song. I liked our last dance song better, “Faithfully” by Journey.

    1. Sheila – I am going to make a wild guess that you got married in the 80s?

      I don’t know that it’s any cheesier than the song “Marry Me” by….somebody (can’t recall) that is currently very popular. The funny thing about that song is that, if you listen carefully to the lyrics, it is directed at a woman (stranger) he sees at the coffeehouse!

      Thanks for sharing!

        1. I think you’re right. You aren’t butting in; you’re contributing – and thank you for it. : )

          Honestly, I get wildy excited when people I don’t know in the “real world” comment on my blog AT ALL , so thanks for that too!

  2. I can’t remember what our first song was – it was either “Because You Loved Me” by Celine Dion or “Forever and Ever, Amen,” by Randy Travis. I can barely remember what I did yesterday, so I’m pleased with the fact I remember this much 😉

    1. : ) Thanks for sharing Jannatwrites! As people say, the marriage matters more the the wedding! It’s actually kind of sweet that you can’t recall.

      People always attribute that kind of thing to men…but my husband and I picked Feb 15 as our date…because we were too frugal (*cough* cheap) to pay for Valentine’s Day…and because we knew the date needed to align with a “holiday” (of sorts). Otherwise, NEITHER of us would ever remember!

Leave a Reply

