Tour de Cure

When I was pregnant with K, I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes.  By the end of the pregnancy, I was injecting myself with insulin four times each day.  The only “positive” I could see at the time was that M was suddenly happy  – he only had to get one shot per day.  Of course, taking care of myself and K (in utero) were positives too.  But at the time, I was too annoyed with dietary rules (like eating  half a banana) to see that. 

The endocrinologist warned me that my risk of getting Type II diabetes within the next 10 years was very high – around 60%.  But after I passed my post-pregnancy glucose test, I didn’t think much more about it.  I monitored my blood sugar for awhile, never saw a spike, and passed along my supplies to someone who does indigent care.

After the father of one of my former Sunday School students was killed in a freak automobile accident at the age of 37, I began to panic about our kid’s financial umbrella.  Mr. Coffee and I were not adequately insured.  Other than what I had through work, we had no life insurance at all.  I was afraid of what my student’s father’s death meant for her family.  I was worried about something similar happening to mine.  That’s how I found out I was pre-diabetic. 

Mr. Coffee and I gave all the blood and urine needed to confirm our life insurance agreement.  Then I got the call informing me that my rate would be 2x higher than what was quoted…because of my blood sugar.  I got a second opinion and the diagnosis was confirmed.

Like magic, that’s when a colleague who has Type I diabetes (the Corporate Slave’s partner, in fact) decided to put together a Tour de Cure Team at work.  I decided it was kismet and signed up.   I have signed up for the 30 mile ride and have been training by riding to and from work once per week (that’s 14 miles round trip).  I plan to add a second riding day soon.  But first I need to order bike shorts, because my backside is now very sore and I have only ridden a total of 28 miles!

30 miles will be a challenge for me, so wish me luck.  If you’d like to contibute towards my fundraising goal of $200, you can do that here.  While my personal goal is, of course, to manage my blood-sugar, it wouldn’t make me sad if I lost a little weight in the process too.* 

And yes, this ruins any delusions I had of this blog being anonymous, but 1) I now have a pretty common name (thank you Mr. Coffee!) and 2) this was never really anonymous anyway.

*For anyone who cares to know, I could stand to lose 20-25 pounds, but would not be considered overweight if I lost 10.  I am moderatley active and though I have a sweet tooth, I eat a fairly healthy diet –  and  I am still battling this.  That’s the luck of the genes, I suppose.

2 thoughts on “Tour de Cure

  1. Ha, ha…I wonder if the bike shorts really help? Bike seats are soooo uncomfortable. I guess that’s one way to make sure you stay active (who really wants to sit with a sore rump?)

    Diabetes is scary to me. So far, my blood sugar is fine (but I do have a sweet tooth, for sure.) It does convern me though, because my great aunt, mom and aunt all have diabetes. Not looking good from the genetic side of things.

    Good luck to you on your thirty mile ride. The training should help your health, too. Maybe at the end of it you can try another blood test to see if you’ve improved.

    1. I used to ride a lot – bike shorts DEFINITELY help, but you are right – bike seats aren’t engineered for human behinds, as far as I can tell!

      Thank you for the well wishes too! I definitely wasn’t ready to worry about diabetes YET, but obviously, I don’t get to choose. I will be posting on this from time to time, so hopefully my journey can help you too.

      A friend recently shared that caffeine spikes her blood-sugar. : ( That doesn’t make me happy, but it could be the source of my confounding status…so I’ll be working on that too.

Leave a Reply

