The 7 Deadly Sins

Added for folks who end up here because they want to know what the 7 Deadly Sins are:  Pride (or Vanity), Lust, Avarice (or Greed), Envy, Sloth, Gluttony, and Wrath.  You’re welcome!  Now….

I recently made some changes to my blog.  Among the most obvious – I am writing posts more than once per month!  Inspired by JannaTWrites, I am posting short fiction – right here, right now.  Not searching for publishers, just putting it up.  I won’t do this with everything I write, but sometimes it just makes sense.  I’d rather people read what I write…than have it sit in a file.

The 2 pieces I have posted so far, Time Line and Between the Peas, are older stories.  Most of what I post will be older work, because I do have other hopes (and plans) for my newer work.  But it has been and will all be work I feel is (at least) decent.  Although yesterday, when some folks clicked to this blog from a comment I left on another’s writer’s blog – one I respect highly and who is much further along in her career than I am – I began thinking maybe I needed to step up my game.   But then, if this isn’t my “A Game” already, why am I sharing?

Hmmm, good question.  I’ll have to think about it. 

In the meantime, I will continue to post about my life, my kids, and my faith.  I am also going to post more fiction, some poetry, and if I can ever get things set up so that it isn’t onerous for me, more of my paintings in progress (like Pictures of Jake).  I have also updated my categories and tags….and find I am inspired by the concept of the 7 Deadly Sins. 

 TV Glutton and Book Lust were all ready in place.  I have recently added “the wrathiness” and “vanity”.  Yep, just plan old vanity.  Though my weight-loss attempts are fueled by hope of managing my blood sugar, I’d be lying if I didn’t acknowledge that vanity plays a part.  Becoming “heavier” is something I still can’t mentally acknowledge, even as I part with clothes I haven’t been able to squeeze into for years.  I will write more on “wrathiness” another time.  I don’t really feel wrath about….much of anything (so that’s where the “iness” comes in).  Avarice/greed, sloth, and envy await…I am having a hard time thinking of anything in my life where those sins could apply – even vaguely – and I am happy about that.  Yet (and oddly) this exercise is part of my faith journey for reasons I cannot articulate, so I’ll be working on figuring that out too.

I hope you come back, let me know if you love or hate my fiction, poetry, paintings…and outlook on parenting, work, faith, and life.  In the meantime, here are some side-trips that have nothing to do with me, but much to do with this post:

The Seven Deadly Sins – It’s easy to find these pictures on the internet, but it would be wrong if I didn’t direct you to where the artist posted them. 

Kharma’s Way by Janna Taylor – This is a short story, by the previously mentioned, JannaT.  She has amazing pacing – somewhat reminiscent of early Janet Evanovich.  This story is incomplete, in my opinion, but it introduces you to a talented writer, so it’s worth it.

Also, that writer I respect so much?  Start here.  I have directed people to Elan Vital by K Tempest Bradford before, and I’ll do it again.  It’s a powerful story about a child’s love…and as a mother, I find it even more tragic.  Anyone who has ever struggled to care for a loved one…who ever had to worry about the cost…will relate.  And it’s science fiction too, so in my book, that pushes the awesome meter right over the edge.

Have a lovely week-end.  And come back and see me next week!

6 thoughts on “The 7 Deadly Sins

  1. Thank you for your complimentary words and support. I do appreciate that you take the time to read my fiction and tell me your honest opinion. Sometimes it feels like many people don’t bother with the stories because they require a bit more time to digest (and everyone has a zillion and one things to do.)

  2. It is a relief to locate a person that actually knows what they are discussing on the internet.More and more people ought to check this out and understand the need for it.Very informative post,i enjoy this site,keep it up!

Leave a Reply

