7 Links Challenge

JannaTWrites issued an open invitation for her readers to participate in a “7 Links Challenge.”  Hi JannaT!

Here’s how it works:  You (the blogger) link to posts within your own blog that fulfill the categories listed.  To quote a friend I’ll call Charlie, “Nifty.” 

Well okay, Charlie is his real name.  What can I say? Today is not my most creative day.  Hi Charlie!

In any event, this is wonderful timing.  With a million essays in my head and no time to write them, I figured I’d post an old poem.  But then…finding one that did not make me blush proved to be a challenge I could not overcome.  Whether that was due to the content of the abysmal quality of the poetry is for me to know and for you to never ever ever find out.  ; – )

Here are the categories and my 7 links….

1)     A Beautiful Post:  Blessed

This may not be my most beautifully written post, but it’s about a beautiful moment in my life – when C. finally began to bond with me, something I had feared would not come to pass.

2)     A Popular Post:  Housework Never-Ending

I am not sure that any of my posts qualify as popular.  But that’s okay.  Popular is my sister’s job.  Hi sis!

This one generated some fascinating comments; close enough

3)     A Helpful Post:  Other People’s Stories – Part 5, The End

I can only hope that someone who needed relief from a currently popular (and potentially damaging) belief system stumbled across this and found it helpful.  It definitely helped me put some feelings to rest.

4)     A Controversial Post:  A Matter of Faith

No real controversy in the post or the comments on this one – or rather, in the comment.  But this is a subject that is highly emotional for some folks, so it’s perhaps as close to controversy as this blog has come.  I like attention as much as the next guy, but I don’t thrive on it.  So while I haven’t actively been avoiding controversy here….wait, no…yes, I have.  I have been actively avoiding controversy.  There, I said it.

Maybe one day I’ll post on politics, breastfeeding, global warming or some other thing that should not be controversial.  But is.  For now, however, this will have to do.

5)     A Surprisingly Successful Post:  Man In A Bottle

This was the first poem I posted.  I began posting my old poems because I had let my blog languish due to well….real life.  This got quite a few hits, which surprised me.  And since posting this, most of my visitors have come for the poetry.  This was delightful and humbling.

6)     A Post That Didn’t Get The Attention It Deserved:  Assumption

I don’t even know how to pick this one!  I got excited the day I had one (count ’em 1) subscriber.  As of yesterday, I have 4.  And that excited me too!  I get excited if any post gets any attention.  So…seriously, how to pick?  I decided on this one because it got a ton of comments on Facebook, but none on my blog.  Good enough.

7)     A Favorite Post:  We’ve Been Had!

The post just before this one.  It’s not my most lyrical post, but I sure did have fun putting it together.  I loved finding a reason to use my favorite open-source photo too.

Okay, now YOU go!

Now, I will post the same invitation to which I responded:

This is an open invitation to anyone who made it through this post.   Choose posts you have done which fit into the above categories (or make up your own if they don’t fit.)  In your new post, link back to your selected category posts.  Remember to come back and leave a link to your “7 Links Challenge” post in a comment below.  Name other bloggers you’d like to participate or issue this open invitation…

Have fun!

7 thoughts on “7 Links Challenge

  1. Whew, It was hard to find where to leave a comment due to your tag cloud but now I know where to do it. Thank you for participating in the seven link challenge. It has helped me get to know you and visit your other posts. I think I will wander in every so often.

  2. “When you love a man, he becomes more than a body. His physical limbs expand, and his outline recedes, vanishes. He is rich and sweet and right. He is part of the world, the atmosphere, the blue sky and the blue water.” ~ Gwendolyn Brooks

Leave a Reply

