Drawing Covers for My YA Novella

Well, my current cover is better than my first attempt, which was truly terrible.  But I am still not quite happy.

For that first try, I used a photo f my 3-year old son as a go-by because he was wearing the expression I wanted.  But a 3 year old boy’s face does not easily morph into a 10-year-old girl’s face, even with my imagination.  So…I spent some time finding photos of girls around the right age, imagined a conglomeration of their faces, and got this:

Marda Sketch

Okay, so far so good.  So I laid down some color using water-color paints:

Marda with water-color

Surprised by how much color washed out in the scan I added more contrast with markers:

Marda with water-color and marker

See how much more color there is in a really poor quality photo?

Marda...photo

Next, in my process comes white acrylic paint.  Maybe I’ll be happy with the result.  Or maybe I’ll just use that first sketch and call it good.  After all, the computer is like a Tardis – I can go back in time to the original sketch.  Maybe add some black marker.  Or vampires in Venice. : /

No, no…not that.

What to choose?  What to choose?  Perhaps when I am done, I’ll post a poll and my 5 readers can choose!   Oooh, I like that idea.  Saves me the brain ache.  I am almost ready for you to read this novella.  I hope you are too!

9 thoughts on “Drawing Covers for My YA Novella

  1. I admire your efforts because I can’t draw faces (or much of anything else, for that matter.) My medium is scrap paper and crayons, or if I’m working on a high quality piece, I use colored pencils.

    1. I love faces. I’d rather draw and paint people than….anything else. But I am terribly out of practice, and it’s giving me fits. Plus, illustration is definitely it’s own craft, not like painting portraits at all.

      In any event, crayon has been my oevre for many years too! : )

  2. The next time I read a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I imply, I know it was my option to read, but I actually thought youd have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you can fix if you werent too busy looking for attention.

  3. Pingback: Ripstik Caster Board

Leave a Reply

