Versatile Blogger Award

I was recently nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award!  In response to this, I fell into a weeks long stunned silence. Then, I started talking about other things.

No actually, I’ve been busy with work – the work that pays my bills and feed my kids. It will be awesome if writing one day does that, but for now…it does not. So I know you’ll understand.

On to the nifty award… 

The Rules:

1. Add a picture of the award.

2.Thank your nominator

Many thanks to Ben over at Story Multiverse for the nomination. The nice things he had to say about my blog were humbling. When Ben first started following my blog, I went over to his blog to see who he was and what he was up to.  I felt a bit like my (now) old friend Jon Frank told me he felt the day I met him way back in the early 90s. I had walked up to him at an art festival and said “Hey, you’re Jon Frank!”, and started talking with him about one of his paintings.  Someone who was not a member of my family – who was, in fact, a talented writer – had come across my work and liked it enough to want to see more.  In other words, I felt good.

I mostly post my fiction and poetry here, but I also post my art, my thoughts, my experiences of parenting…it also felt good to know that someone was enjoying this instead of wondering “What the…?” 

3. Choose 15 other deserving bloggers and inform them.

Wait…what – 15????  Even when I received “The Sweetest Blogger Award” and listed almost every blog I was reading at the time, I didn’t hit 15.  Who reads 15 blogs?  Hey…wait…is that how I…

Never mind, I’ll pick two and you:

 A Gift Universe – Sheila, who I do not know in “real life” writes about parenting, faith, and very occasionally politics.  If I did know Sheila in real life, I feel like we’d bond over our similar parenting philosophies, then have interesting discussions about how our faiths and politics diverge (a lot).  Everything she writes is carefully thought through and beautifully expressed.  I found her by chance when I Googled my unspoken reply to something a colleague said.  Suffice it to say it was not obscene, or even rude, just frustrated.  I have been going back ever since. The care and thought Sheila puts into what she writes reminds me of my late friend Caroline, who was, like Sheila, also devoutly Catholic.

 Neurobics Blog – Deb who I do know in real life is rather on the other end of the spectrum in many ways.  Happily “unmarried” for over two decades and child free.  She is ethnically Jewish, but we haven’t discussed religion in a long time, though she knows it is a big part of who I am now.  She is an award-winning professor whose focus is human sexuality.  I have known Deb since I wore hair too big and pants too tight (which were both totally in style at the time).  I have already had interesting conversations with her about many, many, many things, though my favorite time with her was when we were recording brilliant Pythonesque sketches on cassette. 

 You, yep you – if you are reading this, tag you are it!

4.  Share 7 random facts about one’s self. Hmmm…

1) I speak German.  I have a second major in it and I used to speak it well.  But I am rusty.  On the first of a handful of (written) translation jobs I’ve had, however, after a few hours, I could no longer understand English.

2) Earrings remove themselves from my person rapidly in inverse relation to how much I like them.  I had a gorgeous pair of small brass (?) discs set with luminous green glass that my husband gave me when we were dating.  One of them magically removed itself from my head awhile back and I never found it. 

3) Today I realized I found a new way to wear the remaining green earring.  I had purchased some cross-bodice tops – you know the kind you need and can’t find when you’re nursing and then think are faux-cross when you buy them after all the babies are weaned?  Then you sit down and realize you’re exposed?  No?  Okay, maybe it’s just me.  But I used the remaining earring to pin shut my top today.  By the end of the day…see #2.

4) I have tattoos.  I wouldn’t do it again.  I like tattoos sometimes on other people, but I was a fool to think I’d be who I was in my 20s forever.  How boring would that have been?

5)  I came (back) to the Christian faith after an honest-to-God (pun intended) conversion experience that I would not believe if it hadn’t happened to me.  I have been thinking about starting a new page here to write about my faith journey, but I am more than a little nervous about it.  What do you think? If someone told you their faith journey and it sounded…Biblical, would you believe them?

6) I love Facebook.  I love reconnecting with old friends.  I love playing Scrabble.  I also hate Facebook.  It’s dang addictive.

7) Buffy the Vampire Slayer once saved my life.  The show, not the character, silly.  Sometimes you just need something that makes you think, “I wonder what’s going to happen next”.  And then have to wait 7 days to find out.

 

7 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Congrats on the award!

    I’m impressed you can speak a foreign language. (I never got to that point. Even now, the only Spanish words I remember are the ones I should never, ever speak. Why is that, I wonder?)

    I would be interested in reading about your faith and how you came to know God. I never get tired of those stories and am amazed by how God works. I know your apprehension in posting something so personal. When I started doing faith posts, I imagined the few followers I had leaving. That didn’t happen. I’ve also encountered people I wouldn’t have otherwise ‘met’ if if weren’t for those posts.

    Sorry, I’m rambling. How about you do whatever you’re comfortable with, whenever you’re ready to do it 🙂

    1. Thanks JannaT!

      My German is no longer impressive, but I do seem to have been blessed with an ear for languages. If I’d had more exposure to such things earlier on, I may have become a linguist. Languages are just…awesome and so much fun.

      I started thinking about WHY I was afraid of writing my faith journey after I read your comment. I am not concerned about losing readers because I don’t have many. I had thought I was afraid because so much of it is so hard to believe. There are angels, a visitation of the Holy Spirit, and demons involved. And I figured lots of folks would dimiss me as delusional – but I don’t care about that. Or they’d say I was a liar. I wouldn’t enjoy that, but I realized that I don’t much care about that either. I was there. It happened to me. It changed me. And I am not mentally ill by any barometer used to determine that.

      But in reality, after I spent some time with myself and your comment, I realized that what scares me is that there is so much in the back-story that is….exposing. And I am currently the provider for my family. And my primary client is the Department of Defense. Making myself that vulnerable seems unwise.

      So….I may keep mum for now. But, I am still not sure. If I can figure out a way to navigate it without exposing aspects of myself that I just…can’t, I may. I may even be called to do so. But I am still not sure.

      Oh, and feel free to come ramble here anytime. : )

      1. I can see why you’d be reluctant to write about it if it could impact your job/income. I hope you keep praying about it and God will guide you.

        Your story does sound amazing. Maybe you could write a memoir under a fake name or something, because I’d love to read about it! 🙂

        1. Praying on it – and if I take that approach, I’ll send you a message so you can find it! It was amazing and at times, terrifying, but I am so grateful for where it led me. Thank you for your understanding and for your continued kindness.

  2. Aw, thanks!

    I, too, would love to hear your conversion story. Perhaps you could fictionalize bits? Though I suppose people might wonder how much you were making up, in that case. But you could change names and places without much trouble.

    1. Thank you Sheila. I am still praying on it. I will let you know if I write it as someone else. : )

      My friend late Caroline (who I mentioned above) was a huge help through the hardest post-conversion time. I had known her since I was a teen and she was the *one* person who took my words at face value. People who love me know I am honest (sometimes to a fault) but few people wanted to believe the things I was talking about could be real. And the ones who did want to believe it were generally NOT helpful.

      She talked to priests for me. She prayed for me. She prayed with me. Though I will never be Catholic, I owe the faith a debt (even though Caroline never could adjust to me calling the Holy Spirit “she”.:)

      Tangentially: I hope you are holding up as well as it seems with the increase in effort that can come with adding child 2. Once you get to 3 though, it’s wide open. Three. Five. Seven. All the same. : )

Leave a Reply

