Sketches

It started when I was pretty young.  I’d sit for hours, painstakingly sketching images from National Geographic, albums, personal photos…  My sister has many of those sketches.  Most are lost to time.

Decades ago, when I started showing my work, I was constantly advised to loosen up my style.  A friend recently commented that he didn’t realize I could do realism.  I guess I loosened up already.  Or maybe I just got lazy.

Since I’ve been unabashedly “saving” the less embarrassing poem and songs from my past, I thought it might be fun to “save” a few of my remaining sketches too.  Though the paper was getting crumbly, a few of them scanned well enough.

This one is of a very glamorous friend of mine from highschool.  Why yes, I did go to highschool in the ’80s.  Why do you ask?

7 thoughts on “Sketches

    1. You have no idea how good that makes me feel. I am honored to have work included in your collection.

      I am slowly getting back into my creative groove. Though I can make no promises about follow-through, if you have requests, now would be the time to make them! ; )

  1. I AM the proud owner of your early work. I LOVE it although you don’t like your National Geo phase. It will hang proudly in my new home. This is lovely too and what a gorgeous subject!!! So happy you are drawing/painting again. Still would love to sit for you some time!!!

Leave a Reply

