Happy Bread

Yes, my blog can be utterly random.  It’s mine, so…there you go.  Sometimes, along with writing, working, drawing, and parenting, I cook.  It’s been awhile since I’ve done it, but I make a pretty good loaf of bread.  Despite years of being told otherwise, it’s incredibly easy.  Here is how I do it:

Happy Bread

 

Edited to add:  I realized I posted the vegan, wheat version I wrote up for a friend.  I usually use real butter and white flour.  It’s a bit crumbly w/wheat. 

 

Prep –

Make foaming yeast water:  Heat 1 cup water for 1 minute in the microwave, add 1 tsp raw sugar, 2 packets active dry yeast, & stir.  Set aside for about 10 minutes.

Grease bread pan with a stick of Earth Balance shortening (Earth Balance = compressed palm, canola, soybean, & olive oil).

Melt ¼ cup Earth Balance (about 1 minute in microwave)

In a large bowl, combine 1½ cup flour (100% whole wheat for this heart happy loaf)

1 tsp raw sugar, 1½ tsp salt, and stir with a fork or wire whisk

Fold in the shortening (I like a wooden spoon) and the foaming yeast water

Add in more water (about 1¼  cups), balance flour sprinkles of and water until you have a dough ball.  For this step, use the spoon to mix ~ or smoosh with your clean, dry, floured hands – because that is fun

Knead the dough ball for the length of your favorite song.  Think happy thoughts.

Cover and let rise while you dance for 10 minutes.

Now, roll out the dough so you have a big rectangle, then roll that up, fold the edges over, and drop into your greased pan with the folded edges down.  Use a cookie cutter to press a shape in the loaf, if that makes you happy.

Cover and let rise while you dance away your cares for another hour.  Tito Puente works well for this step, even if you don’t know how to salsa.

Bake for 30 minutes in a 375° oven.

Let cool for about five minutes, drop your bread out of the pan (yes, it drops right out) and ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “Happy Bread

    1. I suppose it would be easier if someone else made it. : )
      To me, that’s less fun, but I love to cook. A lot!

      I just realized I posted the vegan wheat version I wrote up for my friend Catherine. I usually just use butter and white flour.

Leave a Reply

