Sick

I feel like I’ve been SICK since we crawled from the primordial ooze.  Actually, it’s been a month.

First everyone at my house had strep.  We went to our Family Practice, got treated to a bit of fresh from med school arrogance, took antibiotics and felt better for a few days.

Now everyone has a cold, and my baby and I have a dry, unproductive, painful cough that gets worse at night…so sleeping to get better is tough.  It’s probably time to drag all of us back to the doc, but for now, I have to work.  My PTO is about used up, so I’m here to invite you to my pity party.

I honestly do feel like crying.

13 thoughts on “Sick

  1. Meredith

    Aw, I’m sorry!
    And I’ll restrain myself from practicing medicine without a license.
    Unless you want some unsolicited advice.
    Although there’s none I can think of that I’m sure you haven’t tried.

    1. Thanks rjj – We seem to pass it round and round, and then, as soon as we see clear skies…C pukes and spikes a fever (Saturday). But hey at least he puked ON me so it was easy to clean! 😉

  2. Yikes! This sounds awful. Whiskey, huh? That’s a scary remedy 🙂 I hope you’re feeling better by now. Hang in there (and of course, cry if you need to…sometimes that release helps immensely.)

    1. My very Irish-American paternal grandmother used to make me hot toddies when I was sick – the whiskey is an expectorant, the honey is anti-viral (and soothes a sore throat). Given that most over-the-counter cold and flu medicine is at least 50% alcohol, it’s not so bad. And I am a serious light-weight. One weak hot toddy goes a LONG way for me! And yep, it’s the ONLY think that has helped. With Theraflu, I was coughing unproductively until I threw up every night and sometimes during the day (at work!, ew). On evening with whiskey, and overnight my cough became productive. It’s still yucky and I am still a bit sick, but 3 or 4 nights of hot toddies and I don’t need them – or the Theraflu – anymore. 🙂

      I did cry when I was up all night coughing, but I am definitely on my way to being well now.

      Thank you for the well wishes!

Leave a Reply

