Social Class Links 01/17/2014

Social Class Links 01/17/2014.


Follow the link…this sums it up well,

“Do what you love” disguises the fact that being able to choose a career primarily for personal reward is an unmerited privilege, a sign of that person’s socioeconomic class. Even if a self-employed graphic designer had parents who could pay for art school and cosign a lease for a slick Brooklyn apartment, she can self-righteously bestow DWYL as career advice to those covetous of her success.

If we believe that working as a Silicon Valley entrepreneur or a museum publicist or a think-tank acolyte is essential to being true to ourselves — in fact, to loving ourselves — what do we believe about the inner lives and hopes of those who clean hotel rooms and stock shelves at big-box stores? The answer is: nothing.”

2 thoughts on “Social Class Links 01/17/2014

  1. rjjs8878

    I don’t do what I love. I doubt most people do. I’m good at my job but it doesn’t provide any satisfaction. My job pays well and allows me to do things outside of work that provide enrichment and satisfaction. I think it’s a fair trade off.

  2. I agree, but I think the article speaks to how the various versions of the aphorism “do what you love, and the money will follow” fails to consider poor and working class reality – on any level. While you do not do what you love, nor do I, there are other options we could choose, and we DO get to decide “Is this a fair trade-off?” – at least up to a point. It might not be easy, it might be limited, but our alternative are, most likely, not homelessness or starvation.

    I have come a long way from bumming cigarettes so I could feel less hungry for a few hours. I had work at the time – just not enough for rent AND food, and I wasn’t going to get able to get a better job without an address and a phone (this pre-dated the internet). Thanks to my capabilities, my education and the support of family and friends, I am far from that now, but not everyone has a way out of that working reality, and the aphorism erases them.

Leave a Reply

