Patroness

In addition to the paintings I shared here, I painted another, then another.  On Friday, I sold the first 3 to the same person – the friend who initially asked if she could commission me to do one.

She has done me the most wonderful turn of kindness without even trying in breaking through the barrier that had stopped me from painting for years. Maybe, having borne the heavy mantle of supporting the family for so long, I couldn’t break it out of simple desire.  Maybe there had to be money in it.  Whether she ever buys another painting again, I also feel that I have a patron, which is a huge big deal.

Paintings #1 through 3 are shown below.  I wrapped up #4 last night.  I did that one for a charity auction for the preschool my sons have attended (last one in his last year now).  I will share it soon.

How did your week-end start?  Did it wrap up in a similar way to how it started?

Pathways #1 - Over the Hill - inspired by Moundville, AL
Pathways #1 – Over the Hill – inspired by Moundville, AL
Pathways #2 - Into the Woods - Inspired in the woods of Louisiana, though the cherry tree is the stuff of fantasy
Pathways #2 – Into the Woods – Inspired in the woods of Louisiana, though the cherry tree is the stuff of fantasy
Ditch Weed/As I Lay Dying - Inspired by the tenacity of life and the rebirth of hope
Ditch Weed/As I Lay Dying – Inspired by the tenacity of life and the rebirth of hope
6 thoughts on “Patroness

Leave a Reply

