Some Books

I have read many books along with Son 1, and enjoyed them immensely.  Here are a few of these books:

1) The Wings of Fire Series by Tui T. Sutherland.  These books are surprisingly intense.  My favorite thing about them is that they are each told from a different character’s point of view.  Sutherland wrote at least one Animorphs books as well…and lots of others that look good.

2) “Dragonrider” by Cornelia Funke.  This is a sweet book with a kind of intimacy that is appropriate and comforting.  This is a good book for an early reader with advanced skills.  Funke is also the author of Inkheart.

3) The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.  I assume I don’t need to tell you about these!

4) The Fraser Brothers series (known to us as the Jason & Edward books) by Jane Cutler.  Like Dragonrider, these books are fine for younger readers.  They are sweet, easy, humorous reads.  They are out of print, but can still be found at the usual places (Amazon, Barnes & Nobles, alibris.com) on-line.  It looks like Ms. Cutler wrote a lot of other books, but we haven’t  read them so I can’t say anything about them.

5) The first 4 to um, 40 Magic Tree House books by Mary Pope Osborne. These are great read-aloud books or easy readers to get kids into chapter books.  They do get a bit formulaic after the first 10 or so, but my son probably hit book 47 in this series before that phased him.  These are educational too.

Numbers 2 , 4 & 5 we read when Son 1 was much, much younger than he is now.  He absolutely devours books and I could write forever if I tried to list every one that we enjoyed. Right now, he’s reading my complete Jules Verne.  I am pretty excited to have a reading buddy here at home (and I’m shooting to raise two more 😀 ).  I have”The Water of Possibility” by Hiromi Goto & Janet Lunn on my list of books to read with him.  Have you read it?  I also think it’s time to introduce him to the Earthsea Books by Ursula LeGuin.  I remember them as fine reading for a 10 year old.  What do you think?

As for grown-up fiction, I recently loaned my favorite book, “Geek Love” by Katherine Dunne, to friends (a couple) and am looking forward to talking with them about it.  It’s probably time to re-read it.  It’s a different book for me every time.  I highly recommend it, though if you are faint of heart or stomach, the first go through may shock or upset you.  Still, it’s worth it.

I have also been thinking about re-reading “Lives of the Monster Dogs” by Kirsten Bakis.  My sister gave me this haunting book years ago.  Another book my sister gave me (ages ago) that is due for re-read is the “Forgotten Beasts of Eld” by Patricia McKillip.  There’s a line in it about life unraveling that stays with me. I wonder if that book would be considered YA fiction now?  Maybe even middle grade?

Not too long ago, I re-read “Sometimes After Sunset” by Tanith Lee and it still surprised me.  If you like science fiction or fantasy even a little and haven’t read Lee, you should give her work a go.  Her work is probably considered YA, and now that I think about it. I was probably a teen the first go-round.

I also humbly suggest you might like my novella, “The Pied Piper of St. May” too.

I can recommend “Zira’s Heart” by K Tempest Bradford.  I think it would also be considered YA.  It has the feel of a lost fairy tale from a lost culture, strange and familiar at the same time.  I have only read it once so far.  I am a fan of Ms. Bradford’s short stories too (you’ll see Elan Vital in my links o the left)  & enjoy an on-line friendship with her built over many years of (my) fandom.

Right now, I am reading “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn and it just took a shocking turn.  You probably know what I mean if you’ve read it or seen the movie.  I’m not done, so please no spoilers!  For once, I understand what the fuss is all about.

The links above are for your convenience.  Because I am in Colorado, I cannot benefit in any way from your actions, even from Amazon – except if you buy my book (of course!).

Do you have books you regularly re-read?  What is your goal when you do that, if you have one?  Do you have personal classics to recommend?  Any books you’ve especially enjoyed lately?

Gosh, but I do love to read!

Leave a Reply

